It’s been a long and disappointing night. In areas such as co-operative schools and community energy, the movement has lost some of its vocal and powerful champions. But we’re also incredibly proud of those co-operators – all women – who will be entering parliament for the first time, as well as our MPs who through their hard work have secured re-election.

Our co-operative movement has never been more diverse and innovative, nor in need of political and legislative support. And in our new team of MPs, they will have a powerful voice, committed to working across all parties in Parliament to achieve the change the movement needs.

Thank you for everything you have done in this election. We may not have achieved the outcome we all desperately hoped for. But as co-operators, we know that with commitment and hard work, together we will continue to achieve more than we ever could alone.

Karin Christiansen
General Secretary, Co-operative Party

2015 Co-operative Party MPs

Constituency Name
Barrow and Furness John Woodcock
Cardiff South and Penarth Stephen Doughty
Croydon North Steve Reed
Edmonton Kate Osamor
Feltham and Heston Seema Malhotra
Hackney South and Shoreditch Meg Hillier
Harrow West Gareth Thomas
Huddersfield Barry Sheerman
Ilford South Michael >Gapes
Islwyn Christopher Evans
Leicester South Jonathan Ashworth
Liverpool Riverside Louise Ellman
Liverpool Wavertree Luciana Berger
Liverpool West Derby Stephen Twigg
Luton South Gavin Shuker
Manchester Central Lucy Powell
Nottingham East Christopher Leslie
Preston Mark Hendrick
Redcar Anna Turley
Stalybridge and Hyde Jonathan Reynolds
Swansea West Geraint Davies
Walthamstow Stella Creasy
West Bromwich Wes