For Immediate use: 18 February 2019

A Co-operative Party spokesperson said:

“We regret that four Co-operative MPs have today announced that they have resigned from the Labour Party – Luciana Berger, Mike Gapes, Chris Leslie, Gavin Shuker.  This means that they are no longer eligible to sit as Labour & Co-operative MPs.  We thank them sincerely for their support for the Co-operative Party and the co-operative movement over the years.”

Notes to Editors

  • Under the Co-operative Party’s rules Co-operative Party elected representatives agree to join and sit within the official Labour group within the Parliament, Assembly or Council to which they have been elected.  Therefore, these MPs will no longer be entitled to sit as Co-operative MPs.
  • For further information contact the Co-operative Party on 020 7367 4150