Following the 8th June General Election, the Co-operative Party is now the third largest party in Westminster.

All of the Party’s existing MPs were re-elected on increased majorities, following concerted campaigns by the candidates, their local teams, and thousands of Co-operative Party members mobilised across the country.

Responding to the results, General Secretary Claire McCarthy said:

“The Co-operative Party was clear that we wanted to achieve two things in Thursday’s General Election; a strong co-operative policy offer from our Sister Party, and increased representation of co-operators in Parliament. We are really pleased that we achieved both of these objectives. In our centenary year we have achieved the largest ever grouping of Co-operative MPs, with 38. They will be the third largest political party grouping in this Parliament and a strong voice for the co-operative movement.”

When Parliament re-opens with the Queen’s speech on the 19th of June, we will be delighted to welcome the following to the expanded Parliamentary Group:

David Drew (Stroud), Anneliese Dodds (Oxford East), Ged Killen (Rutherglen & Hamilton West), Alex Norris (Nottingham North), Luke Pollard (Plymouth Sutton and Devonport), Jo Platt (Leigh), Lloyd Russell-Moyle (Brighton Kemptown), Paul Sweeney (Glasgow North East), Alex Sobel (Leeds North West)

In a strong set of results for the Party, highlights included the return of Stroud MP David Drew to Parliament, who previously served as a Labour & Co-operative MP from 1997-2017, the election of Luke Pollard, who turned a narrow loss of 523 votes in 2015 into a 6,807 majority, as well as the election of two new MPs in Scotland, Ged Killen and Paul Sweeney.

Of the 14 Parliamentary candidates who were unsuccessful, a large number of whom lost by very small margins. This included Cllr Matt Kerr in Glasgow South West who lost by just 60 votes and Ian McCargo in Pudsey who lost by 331. We thank them all for the work that they have done and will continue to do to promote the Co-operative Party and its policies.

As the Party continues its centenary celebrations, it does so with a stronger voice in Westminster than ever before. In the months and years ahead, we look forward to working with Parliamentary colleagues new and old to provide a strong voice for the movement in the rooms where decisions are made, and to build on the vision for a more co-operative Britain outlined in the Party’s election platform, released last month.

Preet Kaur Gill MP
Chair of the Co-operative Party Parliamentary Group and Shadow Minister for Primary Care and Public Health.
Stella Creasy MP
Labour and Co-operative MP for Walthamstow & Co-op Party NEC Member for London
Luke Pollard MP
Parliamentary Under-Secretary of State for the Ministry of Defence
Chris Evans
Shadow Minister for Tech and Digital Economy
Meg Hillier
Labour & Co-operative MP for Hackney South and Shoreditch and Chair, Public Accounts Committee
Steven Reed
Steve Reed MP
Secretary of State for Environment, Food and Rural Affairs
Lucy Powell MP
Lord President of the Council and Leader of the House of Commons
Gareth Thomas MP
Parliamentary Under-Secretary of State for the Department for Business and Trade
Alex Norris MP
Parliamentary Under-Secretary of State for the Ministry of Housing, Communities and Local Government
Kate Osamor
Labour & Co-operative MP for Edmonton & Winchmore Hill
Jim McMahon MP
Chair of the Co-operative Party and Minister of State for Housing, Communities and Local Government
Anneliese Dodds MP
Minister of State for Foreign, Commonwealth and Development and Minister for Women and Equalities
James Murray MP
Parliamentary Secretary (Exchequer Secretary to the Treasury) for HM Treasury
Emma Foody
Prospective parliamentary candidate for Cramlington and Killingworth
Chris Vince
Prospective parliamentary candidate for Harlow
Sarah Hall
Prospective parliamentary candidate for Warrington South
Sally Jameson
Prospective parliamentary candidate for Doncaster Central
Rachel Blake
Prospective parliamentary candidate for Two Cities of London and Westminster
Oliver Ryan
Prospective parliamentary candidate for Burnley
Miatta Fahnbulleh MP
Parliamentary Under-Secretary of State for the Department for Energy Security and Net Zero
Jo Platt
Prospective parliamentary candidate for Leigh
Jayne Kirkham
Prospective parliamentary candidate for Truro and Falmouth
Jack Abbott
Prospective parliamentary candidate for Ipswich
Baggy Shanker
Prospective parliamentary candidate for Derby South
Gareth Snell
Prospective parliamentary candidate for Stoke-on-Trent Central
Andrew Pakes
Prospective parliamentary candidate for Peterborough
Andrew Gwynne MP
Parliamentary Under-Secretary of State for Public Health and Prevention